Note: These minutes are not official until approved by the Planning & Zoning Committee at a subsequent meeting. Please refer to the meeting minutes when these minutes are approved to obtain any changes to these minutes.

DeKalb County Government Sycamore, Illinois

Special Planning & Zoning Committee Minutes October 19, 2016

The Planning & Zoning Committee of the DeKalb County Board met on Wednesday, October 19, 2016, at 7:00 p.m. in a Special Session in the Legislative Center's Liberty Room. Chairman Emerson called the meeting to order. Those members present were Mr. Bagby, Mr. Bunge, Mr. Faivre, Mr. Jones, Mrs. Turner and Chairman Emerson. A quorum was established with six Members present and one absent.

Also present was Gary Hanson, Mark Pietrowski, Kevin Hickey, Jeff Whelan and Dianne Leifheit.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

It was moved by Mrs. Turner, seconded by Mr. Jones and it was carried unanimously by voice vote to approve the agenda as presented.

APPOINTMENT OF THE DEKALB COUNTY PLANNING DIRECTOR

Mr. Hanson reviewed with the Committee that at their last special meeting he along with the Committee, Chairman Pietrowski and Interim Planning Director, served as the selection committee for the purpose of interviewing those determined most qualified to serve as Planning Director in Executive Session. The group did fulfill their responsibilities and are now recommending that the County Board appoint Derek M. Hiland of Sycamore, Illinois, as the new DeKalb County Planning Director.

Mr. Hanson reviewed a proposed resolution that recommends the appointment of Derek M. Hiland as DeKalb County Planning Director, effective as of November 21, 2016, at an annual salary of \$100,000 with full benefits.

It was moved by Mr. Faivre, seconded by Mr. Jones and it was carried unanimously by voice vote to forward the DeKalb County Planning Director Appointment Resolution to the full County Board recommending its approval.

ADJOURNMENT

It was moved by Mr. Bagby, seconded by Mrs. Turner, and it was carried unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 794 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

John Emerson, Chairman